Whitby Online

Whitby Online - Whitby Forums:
View topic - best fish and chips

Play Stay Eat Go
Whitby

best fish and chips

Talk about the fantastic food available in Whitby here.

Moderators: Moderators, Moderators

best fish and chips

Postby whitbypaul » Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:54 am

i have been visiting whitby for over 20 years.

i used to use the magpie , but moved onto to trenchers.
it is rather expensive to eat fish and chips in a restaurant ,last time i had the large haddock at trenchers , it cost £13.50.
the fish was excellent , i think it was from crooks fishmongers.

the main point is this.

i have never never had decent fish and chips at any british coastal resort they are total dross.

i tried the takeaway at the magpie a few months a go , i think they cost £4.50 and ened up throwing most of it in the bin, absolute rubbish.

the best fish and chips are to be found in parts of west yorkshire where they still cook them in beef dripping.
the fish should be a dark golden colour with no uncooked batter when openned , the chips should be well browned not the pale enemic types found at most places.

the other thing i cannot understand are the prices you have to pay at the coast , how come i can buy them for £2.50 -£3.00 in west yorks.

anyway can someone point me in the right direction for the best takeaway fish and chips or do i have to go to scarborough for a donner kebab
whitbypaul

Postby admin » Tue Nov 21, 2006 6:59 pm

I think the problem is that different people like theirs cooked in different ways... often preferring what they've been bought up with.

Personally I prefer my fish to be WHITE! (Brown!?!?!?! :shock: )

Also, I like my batter to be _just_ cooked... this means the fish also is _just_ cooked, which is how it's meant to be.... and it means it's not been sat in the glass heater thingy for hours - while it goes BROWN!!

The chips... agreed, if they're white, they're not cooked.